Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

aggieg
Casual Contributor

Tired of the struggle

hi - I'm a newbie at this. I've been living with MI since my late teens (I'm 45 now) - have been in a lot of therapy, seen psychiatrists regularly since I was 25, been hospitalised, done the DBT program, drug rehab etc I guess they would call me high functioning because i get up and go to work every day and have a 'meaningful' job. I walk my dog every day. I have some lovely friends. I seem very together.  But I am just so tired. 

So tired. I'm tired of the cycles of MI and dragging myself out of them by myself. I'm tired of being alone all the time. I'm tired of pretending I'm ok. I'm tired of saying I'm not ok and no one wanting to know any more about it. I'm tired of not finding any meaning in anything. I'm tired of getting better and then getting sick again. I'm tired of asking for help. I'm tired of seeing beauty and feeling nothing. I'm tired of practising gratitude. I'm tired of justifying my existence to myself. I'm tired of talking about myself. I'm tired of myself.

I suppose I need to go get some help - again.

Thanks for being here 

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Tired of the struggle

Hello @aggieg

It is great that you are able to manage as much as you do. There are many levels of functioning, unfortunately mine vary a great deal. lol

I am tired of me too.

Hope you find value in sharing here on the forum.

Smiley Happy

Former-Member
Not applicable

Welcome @aggieg