Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Hollyblossom
Casual Contributor

ASD and bipolar; feeling bad about school performance

Hey folks!

I started doing a major I'm really passionate about, but which doesn't play well with my cognitive deficits. There's a lot of paper work and filling things in, and it keeps coming, week after week. The last few weeks I've stopped being able to meet the deadlines, and I'm starting to get stressed out about how much of a struggle it is. I'm an average student, I can get marks in the 60's, but I look at my other friends with ASD and see them getting marks in the 70's, 80's, even 90's, and I feel really bad about myself. I know I have bipolar, which I had for 10 years, and I think it's a bit of apples to oranges since bipolar burns your brain out even more.

At the moment my mood is pretty low, and it's hard to keep telling myself it's a long history of mental illness holding me back. I'm starting to feel like I'm just making excuses for myself. I think it would really help to hear how other people in a similar situation have fared in school, so I know where I'm at.

8 REPLIES 8

Re: ASD and bipolar; feeling bad about school performance

@Hollyblossom. I'm not in school - so can't help there.
But I did want to suggest that you use the supports that Uni /Tafe offer. Student support - with studying - workload - counseling.
It's hard not to look at others and compare ourselves. But it doesn't help us. They haven't lived our life. Don't have our experiences.
I'd say your doing great. Studying a subject that you love and tests you.
Just seek help from the school to keep the workload balanced.

Hello @Hollyblossom