Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

PC17
New Contributor

dBPD

HI Everyone,

this is my first time on any forum so a bit nervous discussing this. i have been diagnosed with OCD and GAD and have personality traits of BPD too. i am not sure whether this is my fear or what but i really struggle with trusting friends and keeping them long-term for more than few years.

anything that they do - like not messaging back, not calling me, cancelling plans too often or saying something mean etc can make me question whether they are good friends or they care about me and i start distancing myself from them in my head. but then i constantly think about the situation in spite of other things happening in my life and constantly worry and feel anxious from all that fear and thinking. i cant relax until they respond or the situation gets fixed. i know its irrational to react so negatively about things that maybe some people don't even pay attention to or my friends don't even think about. please suggest any strategies that can help as i cant stop worrying about it.

thanks 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: dBPD

Hi @PC17,

Welcome to the Forums. My name is FloatingFeather and I am one of the peer support workers at SANE. It is nice to have you with us. I understand your feelings around being a bit nervous posting for the first time - I think a lot of people may feel that way but please know you are in a safe and anonymous space with many supportive members.

I really feel for you and understand a bit about how you feel around feeling anxious when you are waiting to hear back from family / friends.